Monday, January 31, 2011

birth story of ezekiel abraham part 2.

I decide to wait it out a little bit and go to church that night because I didn't want to put my mom on the spot and have no one to play the piano, so I went and played. As I was playing the contractions didn't really get worse, just pretty uncomfortable. We decided to leave right after we played and go to the hospital. We went and got to triage. I had a terrible nurse who obviously had no intention of treating me like a human being. I cried and screamed for her to leave me alone, literally, I told her to stop touching me. I was literally two seconds away from walking out the door and going to a different hospital when Tony helped calm me down. I refused to talk to that nurse for the rest of the time I was there that night though. Tony had to answer all of the questions she asked and I absolutely NEVER let her touch me again. If I would have been thinking straight, I would have reported her. Needless to say, I ended up being sent home because I wasn't dilated or anything like the two weeks before this when I was having fairly consistent contractions.
I already had an appointment Tuesday, so Monday I just waited it out all day and took things easy. The contractions came and went all through the day, but figured they were doing no good, so let it happen. Tony had Tuesday off, so off we go to the appointment...
I was scheduled for an ultrasound to check my fluid levels, so the tech called me in. She immediately started saying things like, "well, you will be having this baby within a couple of days...," "i'm not seeing a lot of pockets of fluid...," "has the doctor talked about inducing you?"
This all kinda shocked me because I really didn't think my fluid was going to be much more low than the week before. Secretly, I wanted some kinda good news about the baby coming because I was at the point where I couldn't walk more than 5 minutes without my feet getting 7x bigger than they already were. It was just getting painful, but for some reason I wasn't prepared for this news. I still really didn't know what she meant when she was saying things like this, but she sent me away to the nurse to take my weight, etc. I ended up in the room, waiting for Pffeifer to get there. In he comes about 10 minutes later and says, "You're having this baby today, one way or the other." WOW! I said with a huge smile, "OKAY!" He never really gave an explanation, just told me to call my mom and head to the hospital.
I talked to his nurse and she said just go up to the OB floor, Pffeifer wants a non-stress test first. His nurse, Carol calls up there and they say there's no beds. She tells the doc and he says, "I don't care. They need to make room."
Tony and I head on over, in the meantime, I'm freaking out because both me and Tony forgot our phones. We have no way to call anyone. That was pretty amusing. I get ahold of a phone at DMH before I head up to the OB floor because we were waiting for them to get a bed and I get ahold of my mom and tell her the news. I tell her to text a few people and that I'll call when I can.
A few minutes later, there's a bed ready. I go to triage and they hook me up immediately and find out the baby is doing just fine. His heartbeat and movements are great. They call Pffeifer and tell him and he says to get me a room, they'll induce me in the morning. If you know me, you know I don't sleep in hospitals. Period. I finally got settled into my room about 8 or 9 p.m. and put a movie in. Tony fell asleep, sorta around Midnight. I, however, watched the clock until 5 a.m. for when it was time to start the pitocin...

Saturday, January 29, 2011

birth story of ezekiel abraham part 1.

A little over a month before I gave birth, I started having super chest pains where I couldn't breath at all. If I ate it got worse, if I walked it got worse. I finally decided to call my doctor's office and ask the nurse about it. Needless to say, they freak out once they hear the words, "I can't breathe." Immediately, the nurse told me to go to the hospital. I went to the hospital and the nurse hooked me up to check the baby. I hadn't eaten all day long, which for a pregnant person was a pretty big deal. I waited and waited and waited for a doctor to say what they wanted to do. They finally sent me down for some crazy tests, which told us nothing, so I got sent home with some Maalox. Well, the pain didn't go away. I was told if it didn't, go back to the hospital. I called the doctor's office first and they told me to go back to the hospital. In I walk and I have the same nurse from the day before, Angie, who told me she was expecting me. Haha. Took an ultrasound of my gall bladder and found nothing. The nurses sorta, in the end concluded it was really bad heartburn. I'm still not convinced, but just dealt with the pain for the next month.
From that day on, I was in the hospital twice a week for non-stress tests because Zeke was "so big." The tests always turned out fine and I was always sent home. Week 36, I was scheduled for an ultrasound. I was told he was measuring around 8lbs. and I was running on the edge of low amniotic fluid. I was at a 5, whatever that means. No one informed me of what that really means except to say it was getting low.  I got scheduled for another ultrasound Week 37.
When I started these non-stress tests, the nurses on duty would always ask if I could feel the contractions. She would always say they were consistent and I should be feeling something. I did, but nothing that really struck me as "labor" until the Sunday before I had Zeke. That Sunday, was a normal pregnant day. I got a call from my parents saying they locked their keys in their car, can Tony and I come pick them up? So, on our way to Shelbyville, I started feeling a little bit stronger cramp-type pains. We met my parents, ate at Pizza Hut and went back home. I told Tony to start timing the contractions. They became every 3 min or so and 45-60 seconds long for an hour. I never really thought they were terribly painful though, so I was pretty confused. I finally called the doctor's office after an hour and a half of this and the doctor on call calls me back and says, "Congratulations! You're in labor, go to the hospital..."

...to be continued.

and so it begins.

Well, I'm writing this blog because I can type faster than I can write. It seems many people are using the likes of typing rather than the old fashioned pen and paper. I love to write. I'm actually pretty obsessed with handwriting's, I just want to be able to remember this stuff before I don't remember it enough to write it all out. Man, it's hard to come up with a blog name. Everything under the sun is taken, so you just kinda wing and hope that it is relevant to you. It's Midnight and I've been trying for an hour to get a blog name. Baha, kinda ridiculous considering I'm not writing this blog for anyone but myself.
If I end up sticking with this thing, I would really like to just mark my son's milestones, small and large. Pretty boring to the average person, but pretty awesome to me. I really don't want to forget him at any stage in his life and I have already started to forget what it was like to carry him in my belly for 37 weeks. I wanna be able to recall some of those memories also. My life is kinda in the fast lane, it's going by so quickly and I know I think I'll remember everything, but I won't. So here goes...